Kyle Jamieson awarded Players’ Cap for New Zealand

BJ Watling, the quintessential New Zealander – and the best at what he does

Kyle Jamieson banking on the experience of his fellow pacers for England tour

Top-order batter to ‘something special’ fast bowler – the Kyle Jamieson story

Jamieson reflected on his year in international cricket and thanked his teammates for making the New Zealand side what it is.”It’s been a special 12 months being part of this group and thanks to everyone for making it such an easy team to fit into,” Jamison said. “This is pretty special and not something that I expected at all. There have been some great guys who have won this before and being recognised by your peers is the ultimate.”The wins are what I enjoy most, that Bay Oval Test was a special one going into day five – my first day five match – and just being part of that Test victory is what I value the most.”Watling said the Players’ Cap was one that recognised moments that might be overlooked by people outside, but ones that the players themselves knew were important in every game.”This cap is a special award as it reflects those moments that often go unnoticed, but as a team we understand those small margins that go to winning games,” Watling said. “The really great thing is the guys coming in are contributing to our team, and this year Kyle has certainly been one of those guys who has come in and taken his chances and opportunities from the get go, and I am sure we will see him here receiving many more Players’ Caps.”Past winners of the Players’ Cap: Brendon McCullum – 2012, Tim Southee – 2013, Ross Taylor – 2014, Kane Williamson – 2015, Kane Williamson – 2016, Kane Williamson – 2017, Trent Boult – 2018, Ross Taylor – 2019, Tim Southee – 2020.Kyle JamiesonBJ WatlingNew ZealandNew Zealand in England


Related articles


Share article

Latest articles


Subscribe to stay updated.