BJP scouts for ‘heavyweight’ to take on Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee on home turf | Kolkata News | RopSport
Boxing News

BJP scouts for ‘heavyweight’ to take on Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee on home turf | Kolkata News


KOLKATA: Getting a “surprise” lead of 185 votes from the Bhowanipore assembly segment in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls is the only “ray of hope” for the BJP in the otherwise lopsided battle against Mamata Banerjee when the mandate in bye elections usually go in favour of the ruling party.
The BJP brass is scouting for a “party heavyweight” to take on Mamata Banerjee in her home turf though Trinamool’s Shobhandeb Chatterjee won from Bhowanipore by a huge margin against BJP’s Rudranil Ghosh in the recently concluded 2021 Bengal assembly polls. Eyes are set on the BJP meeting on Tuesday when the BJP brass might take up the matter with the Bengal BJP leaders.
Leader of opposition Suvendu Adhikari left for Delhi to discuss matters with the BJP brass in Delhi because the BJP seniors in Delhi decide the candidates for assembly and parliament seats. However, this time the BJP leadership is treading cautiously. “Leaders in Delhi took the decisions during the assembly elections in Bengal often without paying heed to the proposals from the Bengal unit. But that is not going to be the case this time. The BJP leadership will announce the names in consultation with the Bengal BJP,” a BJP leader said.
Bengal BJP president Dilip Ghosh has already ferreted out a few names – former Tripura governor and former BJP state president Tathagata Roy, BJP think tank Anirban Ganguly, actor-turned-politician Rudrnail Ghosh and BJP state vice-president Pratap Banerjee – as probable candidates in the prestigious fight.
Sources in the BJP pointed out that Rudranil Ghosh called on BJP organization secretary Shivprakash in Delhi recently and expressed his commitment to fight the Bhowanipore bypoll if the party gave him a ticket. However, the 2021 assembly election result in the Bhowanipore seat was not encouraging for the BJP. Trinamool senior Shobhandeb Chatterjee won from the seat by a margin of 28719 votes (57.71%) while Rudranil Ghosh got 35.16% of the polled votes despite road shows by Union home minister Amit Shah and a door-to-door campaign in parts of the constituency by BJP president J.P. Nadda.
The Bengal BJP president set to rest rumour over Suvendu Adhikari’s candidature days after Adhikari announced that he was willing to take on Mamata Banerjee yet again if the party wanted him. “Suvendu has defeated Mamata Banerjee once. How many times will he do that? Someone else will defeat Mamata Banerjee this time,” Ghosh said at Midnapore town on Monday.
But BJP insiders know that the battle in Bhowanipore would be more tough than it was in Nandigram because Mamata Banerjee has already with her a total 213 MLAs in her fold. Four others from the BJP have recently joined the Trinamool. The BJP leaders can’t also deny the fact Mamata in 2011 had won the Bhowanipore bypoll by a margin of 54213 votes.
A section of the Bengal BJP wants Tathagata Roy as the Bhowanipore candidate because Roy happens to be the only BJP leader who had led from this assembly segment. They want the former BJP president despite Roy’s comments against the present BJP state leadership. BJP sources held that Roy might think of contesting only if the BJP brass in Delhi wants him to do so.